Resource Faculty & Research Staff

Anthropology Department Resource Faculty Members & Research Staff

 

The department chair is Chet Sherwood.

 

To see prizes and awards received by our faculty and students, click here.

Catherine J. Allen
Catherine J. Allen

 

Professor Emeritus of Anthropology and International Affairs

 

kitallen@email.gwu.edu

 

Symbolism; ritual; social organization; aesthetics; oral narrative; drama. Regional focus: Andean South America.

Diane Bell
Diane Bell

 

Professor Emerita of Anthropology

 

diane.bell@grapevine.com.au

 

Indigenous peoples (Australia and North America), applied, legal and feminist anthropology.

Nancy Benco
Nancy Benco

 

Associate Research Professor of Anthropology

 

benco@email.gwu.edu

 

Complex societies, ceramic analysis, craft production; Neolithic, Bronze Age, and Islamic archaeology. Regional focus: North Africa and the Near East.

René Bobe
René Bobe

 

Associate Research Professor of Anthropology

 

bobe@email.gwu.edu

 

Environmental and ecological context of human evolution, mammalian evolution, ecology, and biogeography, faunal analysis.

Linda Brown
Linda Brown

 

Assistant Research Professor of Anthropology

 

labrown@email.gwu.edu

 

Ethnoarchaeology, archaeology of ritual, the role of ideology and resistance in complex society, the cultural landscape. Regional focus: Mesoamerica.

Professor Tetyana Duka
Tetyana Duka

 

Assistant Research Professor of Anthropology

 

tduka@email.gwu.edu

 


Joseph M. Erwin
Joseph M. Erwin

 

Research Professor of Anthropology

 

agingapes@gmail.com

 

Primate neurobiology, comparative study of aging, treatment of captive primates, primate conservation.

J. Tyler Faith
J. Tyler Faith

 

Assistant Research Professor of Anthropology

 

j.faith@uq.edu.au

 

Modern human origins, human-environment interaction, paleoecology, extinctions, climate change, zooarchaeology, taphonomy, conservation paleobiology.

Nic Fourie
Nicolaas Fourie

 

Assistant Research Professor of Anthropology

 

nic.fourie@gmail.com

 

Primate physiology, microbiome studies, gastrointestinal disorders, phylogenetics of cancer.

Professor Edward C. Green
Edward C. Green

 

Research Professor

 

egreendc@gmail.com

 


Amanda G. Henry
Amanda G. Henry

 

Assistant Research Professor of Anthropology

 

amanda_henry@eva.mpg.de

 


Ruth M. Krulfeld
Ruth Krulfeld

 

Professor Emerita of Anthropology and International Affairs

 

krulfeld@email.gwu.edu

 


Peter W. Lucas
Peter W. Lucas

 

Research Professor of Anthropology

 

pwlucas@email.gwu.edu

 

Dental morphology and function; primate diet, feeding ecology, and behavior; chemical and physical content of food; tools for the field study of foraging mammals; evolution of color vision.

Professor Frances Norwood
Frances Norwood

 

Assistant Research Professor in Anthropology

 

fnorwood@email.gwu.edu

 

Long-term care and end-of-life health policy; healthy aging, disability; spirituality and health; independent living and aging in place; health care reform and health policy; critical medical anthropology; qualitative and quantitative methods.

Erin Marie Williams
Erin Marie Williams

 

Assistant Research Professor of Anthropology

 

ewilliams2@chatham.edu

 


Research Staff

Elaine Guevara

 

Research Assistant

 

elaineguevara@gmail.com

 


Margaret A. Stanton

 

Postdoctoral Scientist

 

mastanton@email.gwu.edu

 

Behavioral ecology, social behavior, maternal behavior, infant development, social network analysis.

Cheryl Stimpson
Cheryl Stimpson

 

Senior Research Associate

 

cstimpso@email.gwu.edu