Faculty and Graduate Student Prizes and Awards

GW Prizes and Awards Awarded to Anthropology Faculty, Post-Docs, and Graduate Students

Oscar and Shoshana Trachtenberg Prize for Faculty Scholarship

  • 2019: Hugh Gusterson
  • 2012: Chet Sherwood
  • 2011: Eric Cline
  • 2003: Bernard Wood
  • 1994: Alison Brooks

Oscar and Shoshana Trachtenberg Prize for Teaching Excellence

  • 2017: David Braun
  • 2015: Alex Dent
  • 2012: Eric Cline

Office of the Vice President for Research Distinguished Scholar Award

  • 2017: Ilana Feldman

Office of the Vice President for Research Distinguished Researcher Award

  • 2018: Chet Sherwood

Morton Bender Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

  • 2008: Alex Dent
  • 2004: Eric Cline

Harry Harding Teaching Award, Elliott School of International Affairs

  • 2008: Barbara Miller

Columbian Prize for Teaching and Advising Advanced Undergraduate Students

  • 2018: Brenda Bradley

CCAS Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Departmental Advising

  • 2006: Eric Cline

Philip J. Amsterdam Graduate Teaching Award

  • 2018-19: Eve Boyle (PhD Human Paleobiology 2019)
  • 2017-18: Kaitlin Wellens (PhD Human Paleobiology 2018)
  • 2013-14: Andrew Du (PhD Human Paleobiology 2016)
  • 2011-12: Kes Schroer (PhD Human Paleobiology 2013)
  • 2001-02: Alice McKeown (MA Anth 2002)

GW Research Days

  • 2018-19: Elaine Miller (PhD Human Paleobiology) - Second Prize in Ecology & Paleobiology
  • 2018-19: Thea Anderson (PhD Human Paleobiology) - Second Prize in Ecology & Paleobiology


Non-GW Prizes and Awards: Faculty & Post-Doc 

American Anthropological Association

  • Anthropology in Media Award: Richard Grinker, 2012

American Gastroenterological Association

  • Poster of Distinction, 2013/2015: Nicolaas Fourie

American Schools of Oriental Research

  • Nancy Lapp Publication Award for Best Popular Book: Eric Cline, 2014

Archaeological Institute of America

  • National "Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching" Award: Eric Cline, 2005

Biblical Archaeology Society

  • Best Popular Book on Archaeology: Eric Cline, 2001, 2009, 2011

City of Toulouse, France

  • Medaille d’Honneur; in conjunction with the 23 Society of Africanist Archaeologist
  • Congress, for “contribution to the advancement of archaeology in Africa”. June 27, 2016. Allison Brooks.

Fundación General de la Universidad Complutense de Madrid (FGUCM)

  • Young Investigator Award in Science and Technology. 2015: Aida Gómez-Robles, Ph.D.

The John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation

  • Guggenheim Fellowship, Hugh Gusterson, 2019

Muhlenberg College

  • Honorary PhD degree (honoris causa): Eric Cline, 2015

National Alliance for Mental Illness

  • KEN Award for contribution to the understanding of mental illness: Richard Grinker, 2007

National Association for Research on Science Teaching

  • Best paper: Joel Kuipers, 2004

National Endowment for the Humanities

  • Public Scholar Award: Eric Cline, 2015-16

Professional and Scholarly Excellence (PROSE) Awards

  • Honorary Mention in Archaeology and Anthropology Category (for 1177 BC), 2015: Eric Cline

Russian Academy of Sciences

  • Doctor of Letters honoris causae: Alison Brooks, 1999

Society for American Archeology

  • Award for Excellence in Public Education: Alison Brooks (with former GW graduate students Ruth Selig, Ann Kaupp, and Joanne Lanouette), 2002

Society for Cultural Anthropology

  • Cultural Horizons Prize for best article in Cultural Anthropology: Ilana Feldman, 2008

Society for Humanistic Anthropology

  • Victor Turner Prize for Ethnographic Writing: Richard Grinker (honorable mention), 2001, 2007

U.S. Small Business Administration

  • Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) Award
“Rapid and Simple Paper Strip Test for the Multiplexed Detection of Gastrointestinal Pathogens at the Point-of-Need” 2016: Nicolaas Fourie

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

  • Award for Excellence in Evaluation Research: Mark Edberg, 2003

Washington Association of Professional Anthropologists (WAPA) and the National Association for the Practice of Anthropology (NAPA)

  • Praxis Award for excellence in applied anthropology: Mark Edberg, 2013

Yale University

  • Yale Institute for Biospheric Studies Doctoral Pilot Grant, 2014, Elaine E. Guevara


Non-GW Prizes and Awards: Graduate Students 

American Association of Physical Anthropologists

  • Earnest A. Hooton Prize for top student research at AAPA meeting: David Green (PhD HomPal 2010), 2009; Nicole Griffin (PhD HomPal 2009), 2008

Cosmos Club

  • Henry H. Work Science Award: David Patterson (PhD HomPal cand.), 2014

Iowa State University, Carrie Chapman Catt Center for Women and Politics

  • Carrie Chapman Catt Prize for Research on Women and Politics: Diana Santillán (MA Anth-ID 2006), 2005

Social Science Research Council

  • Cultural Influences in Regulatory Capture: Lara Rodriguez-Delgado (PhD Anth), 2019

Society for Archaeological Science

  • R.E. Taylor Student Poster Award: Andrew Zipkin (PhD HomPal 2015), 2012

U.S. Department of State

  • Critical Language Scholar Award: Jamison Liang (MA Anth-ID 2014), 2014
  • Fulbright Student Research Award, graduate students: Matthew LeDuc (MA Anth-ID 2010), 2010
  • Fulbright Student Research Award, alumni: Evy Vourlides (MA Anth-ID 2013), 2013-14; Shaylen Foley (BA Anth-honors & Fine Arts 2010), 2012-13




Follow us @GWAnthropology!