Faculty and Graduate Student Prizes and Awards

GW Prizes and Awards Awarded to
Anthropology Faculty

Oscar and Shoshana Trachtenberg Prize for Faculty Scholarship

2012: Chet Sherwood
2011: Eric Cline
2003: Bernard Wood
1994: Alison Brooks

Oscar and Shoshana Trachtenberg Prize for Teaching Excellence

2017: David Braun
2015: Alex Dent
2012: Eric Cline

Office of the Vice President for Research Distinguished Scholar Award

2017: Ilana Feldman

Office of the Vice President for Research Distinguished Researcher Award

2018: Chet Sherwood

Morton Bender Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

2008: Alex Dent
2004: Eric Cline

Harry Harding Teaching Award, Elliott School of International Affairs

2008: Barbara Miller

Columbian Prize for Teaching and Advising Advanced Undergraduate Students

2018: Brenda Bradley

CCAS Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Departmental Advising

2006: Eric Cline

Philip J. Amsterdam Graduate Teaching Award

2017-18: Kaitlin Wellens (PhD Human Paleobiology 2018)
2013-14: Andrew Du (PhD Human Paleobiology 2016)
2011-12: Kes Schroer (PhD Human Paleobiology 2013)
2001-02: Alice McKeown (MA Anth 2002)

Non-GW Prizes and Awards: Faculty (Received Post-PhD)

American Anthropological Association

Anthropology in Media Award: Richard Grinker, 2012

American Schools of Oriental Research

Nancy Lapp Publication Award for Best Popular Book: Eric Cline, 2014

Archaeological Institute of America

National "Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching" Award: Eric Cline, 2005

Biblical Archaeology Society

Best Popular Book on Archaeology: Eric Cline, 2001, 2009, 2011

Muhlenberg College

Honorary PhD degree (honoris causa): Eric Cline, 2015

National Alliance for Mental Illness

KEN Award for contribution to the understanding of mental illness: Richard Grinker, 2007

National Association for Research on Science Teaching

Best paper: Joel Kuipers, 2004

National Endowment for the Humanities

Public Scholar Award: Eric Cline, 2015-16

Russian Academy of Sciences

Doctor of Letters honoris causae: Alison Brooks, 1999

Society for American Archeology

Award for Excellence in Public Education: Alison Brooks (with former GW graduate students Ruth Selig, Ann Kaupp, and Joanne Lanouette), 2002

Society for Cultural Anthropology

Cultural Horizons Prize for best article in Cultural Anthropology: Ilana Feldman, 2008

Society for Humanistic Anthropology

Victor Turner Prize for Ethnographic Writing: Richard Grinker (honorable mention), 2001, 2007

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Award for Excellence in Evaluation Research: Mark Edberg, 2003

Washington Association of Professional Anthropologists (WAPA) and the National Association for the Practice of Anthropology (NAPA)

Praxis Award for excellence in applied anthropology: Mark Edberg, 2013

Non-GW Prizes and Awards: Graduate Students

American Association of Physical Anthropologists

Earnest A. Hooton Prize for top student research at AAPA meeting: David Green (PhD HomPal 2010), 2009; Nicole Griffin (PhD HomPal 2009), 2008

Cosmos Club

Henry H. Work Science Award: David Patterson (PhD HomPal cand.), 2014

Iowa State University, Carrie Chapman Catt Center for Women and Politics

Carrie Chapman Catt Prize for Research on Women and Politics: Diana Santillán (MA Anth-ID 2006), 2005

Social Science Research Council

Cultural Influences in Regulatory Capture: Lara Rodriguez-Delgado (PhD Anth), 2019

Society for Archaeological Science

R.E. Taylor Student Poster Award: Andrew Zipkin (PhD HomPal 2015), 2012

U.S. Department of State

Critical Language Scholar Award: Jamison Liang (MA Anth-ID 2014), 2014

Fulbright Student Research Award, graduate students: Matthew LeDuc (MA Anth-ID 2010), 2010

Fulbright Student Research Award, alumni: Evy Vourlides (MA Anth-ID 2013), 2013-14; Shaylen Foley (BA Anth-honors & Fine Arts 2010), 2012-13